5 Best Cybersecurity Certifications For Beginners

You probably know how fast things change if you are in cybersecurity or have studied the field. Cybersecurity and threats to systems, which were first discovered in the 1970s have been around since then.
As with any field that has been around for a long period of time, there have been many changes. This means that people in the field must keep up with new threats and attacks.
A cybersecurity certification can help with your ongoing learning.
There are many reasons to get a Cybersecurity certification
Like any job, it is important to continue learning and growing. You also need to stay on top of the latest trends in order to be successful. You can become a certified cybersecurity professional.
More money
You can easily land a job as a cybersecurity professional
Be qualified to perform specialized or senior-level roles

5 Best Cybersecurity Certifications For Beginners
1. CompTIA Security+
CompTIA Security+ certification is internationally recognized. It is the first security certification anyone in cybersecurity should get. It validates the competence and core knowledge of any candidate required in any cybersecurity position. This certification allows for an easy transition to intermediate-level cybersecurity jobs.
Top Certification Topics
Threats, attacks, and vulnerabilities
Governance, risk and compliance

Prerequisites for certification:

Cybersecurity job opportunities:
Systems Administrator
Security Analyst or Engineer
Analyst or Helpdesk Manager

2. Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH).
Cybersecurity is only possible through ethical hacking. It is crucial to understand how hackers can break through barriers and gain unauthorized entry to systems. This allows you to prevent attacks from happening in the first place.
A certification in ethical hacking will equip you with the skills and tools that you need to succeed in your cybersecurity career.
Top Certification Topics
Hacking web servers, applications, and wireless networks
Evading IDS, firewalls and honeypots
Cloud computing

Prerequisites for certification:
Two years of experience in Information Security work

Cybersecurity job opportunities:
Network Engineer
Junior Penetration Tester
Cybersecurity Consultant

3. GIAC Security Essentials (GSEC).
Giac Security Essentials Certification is for those who have more advanced knowledge than basic terminology and concepts in information security. This certification is awarded to individuals who have experience in IT systems roles related to security, such as cryptography, incident handling/response and contingency planning.
Top Certification Topics
Mobile device security
Endpoint security
Permission testing and vulnerability scanning

Prerequisites for certification:

Cybersecurity job opportunities:
Security Manager
Security Administrator
Forensic Analyst

4. (ISC.2 Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP).
The (ISC2)2 SSCP certification is intended for IT managers, directors, and network security specialists responsible for the security of their most valuable assets. This certification is not for everyone, so make sure you read the details before signing up.
If you work for government, SSCP meets the requirements of the US Department of Defense Directive. Although there are no prerequisites for this certification, we recommend it only for certain branches of cybersecurity careers.
Top Certification Topics
Administration and security operations
Monitoring, analysis, and identification of risk
Network and communications security

Prerequisites for certification:

Cybersecurity job opportunities:
Systems Engineer
Security Specialist
Database Administrator

5. Certified Information Security Manager (CISM).
The Certified Information Security Manager certification allows those with technical experience and technical expertise to move into a managerial position. This certification will demonstrate to others that you can align information security goals of the company with larger goals and your commitment to integrity, security, compliance, and security.
Top Certification Topics
Governance of information security
Incident management and risk management
Development of information security programs

Prerequisites for certification:
Five years of experience in professional information security management (within the last ten years).

2-3 years of experience in professional information security management (if these points are applicable to you).

Cybersecurity job opportunities:
Information Security Officer/Manager/Analyst
Security Architect
Chief Information (Security), Officer

Types of Cybersecurity Certification Programmes
There are three levels to cybersecurity programs:
Certificates in Cybersecurity Entry-Level
Intermediate Cybersecurity Certificate